1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Project: Cabe

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by greensabbath, 30 Jan 2008.

1. greensabbath

greensabbath Got Wood?

Hello everyone, after a bit of time off and a couple months of planning and pondering, I'm back with a new case. This time however, it will actually be a case "mod" in the strictest sense. The victim in this case is quite special. You may remember Rigormortem's "Impossible modding" project. Well I met the man (i'm studying in Italy at the moment) and i was lucky enough to convince him that I could do something great with the case (which is already beautiful imho) and he kindly persuaded the great guys over at modd.it to give me a chance and send me one. So without further adeu, here is the sponsor list and subsequently, my plans for this beast.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

I'll start of with some of the materials I'll be using. Most were gratiously donated by the guys at A C Ryan (thanks Dennis). This pile came in the mail for me a little while back. It includes about 24 sheets of aluminum, acrylic, and mesh, along with other modding goodies which i'll be using on various future projects:
    [​IMG]

The two main materials i'll be introducing are 2 way mirror acrylic, and 2mm and 1mm brushed black aluminum:
    [​IMG]

I wanted to get the Orange UV case to play with the contrast between it and the black aluminum. To do this, I'm covering the acrylic shell with 1mm black brushed aluminum.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I really like the Cabe logo, so that will be repeated in the aluminum shell:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And in the feet:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]