1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Linux problems

Discussion in 'Software' started by Cyphus, 25 Apr 2008.

1. Cyphus

Cyphus What's a Dremel?

As Ubuntu 8.04 was released yesterday, i thought i'd celebrate by giving it a bash. I've never tried anything to do with Linux before so don't really know much about it, other than what i read in Glider's guide, which was very useful.

So i burnt a Live CD and played around a bit just booting from the cd and really liked it. Then i tried to install it and dual boot with XP, I figure i would just cut my 74GB system drive in half and share half with Linux.

The Ubuntu installer didn't seem to want to do that, when i selected to manually partition, it said my 74Gb drive only had 8MB free, which isn't true, it has 49GB free. But it seemed to want to install on one of my storage drives that was pratically empty, so i gave it 100GB to play with using the easy slider method. The rest of the install went without a hitch until the Grub boot loader tried to boot on the restart, but came up with error 22.

I did a quick search on google and found that i should boot into the XP recovery console and write a new MBR using the command 'fixmbr'. Did that and XP boots fine, but now i have no idea how to get Ubuntu to boot.

Any ideas of what i should do next?
    Many thanks

2. Elv13

Elv13 What's a Dremel?