1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays User Review: Yuraku 24" M-PVA (HDCP)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Xtrafresh, 8 May 2008.

1. Xtrafresh

Xtrafresh It never hurts to help

I posted this oroginally in the thread where kenco_uk tips everyone to go get one. Everyone started demanding pics, so i wrote this review :)

I hope posting it again like this is not against the rules, i couldn't really find anything about it.

Me, myself & my screen

About three weeks ago i saw kenco's thread in the bargain section. I looked for a good price on it on the mainland, and found a german webshop selling it for 277€. I drove 450 km (autobahn Cheesecake) to get it, and i haven't regretted it for a second. Now i'd like to share my experience with you guys, so you can make an informed decision.
    I am not an expert on screen technology, so me doing benchmarks or any other technical evaluations of the screen would be nonsense, so this review is just based on my personal user experience. Here goes:

Unpacking

First of all, let me say that the Yuraku 24″ screen is a minimalistic thing. Apart from the awesome panel, virtually every conceivable corner has been cut to keep the price low.
    The first very obvious place that this shows is the rather dull and disappointing looking box. It says "Create >> Excite >> Inspire" on the side, but the box doesn't do any of those things for me. But let's be fair, we are not buying a box are we?

[​IMG]

Opening the box we find the screen sandwitced between two pices op styrofoam, documentation, and the assortment of cables, all in their own plastic bag. The styrofoam doesn't offer much padding, and it is the cheap kind too, so dont toss the box around too much, you really might damage the panel doing that!

[​IMG]