1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TVs projectors

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ultimate Gamer, 7 Jun 2008.

1. Ultimate Gamer

Ultimate Gamer What's a Dremel?

my parents are building a home theater in the house and I was looking at a bunch of them never really got the specs does anyone have any suggestions the wall we are going to put it on is 190 inches wide and 90 inches high. If you have one and you like it please tell me this is my first projector so blah! Thanks

2. Smegwarrior

Smegwarrior Fighting the war on smeg

I say go CRT projection because it has better (read: true) blacks because of it's high contrast ratio of anywhere from 10,000:1 up to 30,000:1 or more.

More accurate colours.

A more film like image with more depth of field because it doesn't have the artificial sharpness of LCD/DLP projectors which makes LCD/DLP projectors look harsh, flat and unnatural.

NO screen door effect.

It will display any resolution from 640 x 480i up to it's maximum resolution which depends on the model but anything made from the mid 1990's onwards should do 1080i HD and anything from 2000 onwards will do 1080p.
    It is not a fixed pixel device (fixed resolution) like LCD and DLP projectors which upscale or downscale the signal to match the native resolution of the LCD/DLP panel (and do it badly).

It will outlast anything you buy new off the shelf today.
    I have a very old Sony VPH1000QM (720 x 576i SD only) that I have had for over 14 years and it has NEVER needed any repairs or had the tubes changed with over 80,000 hours on them (beat that with a digital bulb burner) and I have personally put over 60,000 of those hours on it.
    I watch a picture that is 2.1 metres tall by 2.5 metres wide in 4:3 ratio.