1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Fan Grill too thin?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Region, 29 Sep 2008.

1. Region

Region Obsessed with sound.

Dear fellow modders,
    I have being reading through post, guides and many project logs over the past 7 or 8 months and can say i have been simply blown away.
    This is basically what has inspired me to begin my first mod. :thumb: I have been working on my design for about 4 months now and hopefully have it finished in my 2 week holidays (woot no school).As i have never done any modding work with plexi and have very little experience with the material i need a little help with my fan grills.
    My question is, is my design to thin? and will it snap easily, if so any suggestions on how to improve on this?. I'm not to happy with the thickness of the letters at the moment im think it needs to be a bit thicker, what do you think?

here is my design of my fan grill (first time using sketchup).
    [​IMG]

Thanks goes out to Scooby from the SketchUp collection for the 80mm fan.

Also the grill will be for a 80mm fan.

Kind regards, Region :rock:

Last edited: 29 Sep 2008
  2. Cheapskate

Cheapskate Insane? or just stupid?

Yep, the insides are pretty frail looking The mounting posts and outer ring look good with the mesh though. I'd go with just that. Thicker letters would help. The VU meter parts are just asking to be snapped off or bent, though.

-and welcome to BT.:D

3. lobster_johnson

lobster_johnson Fear the Claw of Justice!

I have to agree. It's likely you'll end up bending something out of place and not mean to. You'd just have to be *very* careful with it.