1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Critique My Build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dogkicker91, 29 Dec 2008.

1. dogkicker91

dogkicker91 What's a Dremel?

Graphics Card BFG 9800GT OC Edition 512MB
    £118.90
    Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 stepping
    £153.78
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
    £105.74
    Memory Corsair XMS2 4GB kit (2x2GB) PC2-6400 CAS5
    £40.12
    Case Antec P182
    £92.44
    Power Supply Arctic Power 700W PSU
    £41.44
    CPU Cooler Akasa 966BL "Blue Aurora"
    £27.30
    Hard Disk Drive Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB Hard Disk Drive
    £77.80
    Optical Drive Sony DRU-V200S DVDRW
    £17.30
    Operating System Windows Vista Home
    £84.95

Total
    £732.47

I shall be using it for the occaisional gaming but mainly for uni and the like. Also I am a massive rookie so there could be some massive errors.

My Main Queries are:
    1)Do I need the fan, as it has been suggested to me that it wont be nessersary?
    2)Are there any good cheaper alternatives for the case, as £100 seems quite alot.
    3)Is the graphics card good enough?

Thanks

Last edited: 29 Dec 2008
  2. klutch4891

klutch4891 What's a Dremel?

If you buy the retail version of the Q6600 it comes with a heatsink/fan, but if you get the OEM you will need a heatsink. The graphics card should be decent for some light gaming as long as you don't use super high resolutions; and as for the case..... if you want to save some cash how about something along the lines of this?

3. thehippoz

thehippoz What's a Dremel?

go with vista premium for aero.. the video card should be fine for what you use it for- just remember that GT model overclocks with the pcie speed also

4. Diosjenin

Diosjenin Thinker, Tweaker, Et Cetera

Graphics Card: 9800GT for 118.9 GBP? Not when you can get a Palit HD4850 for .1 GBP cheaper, you don't. :p