1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Installing XP on a second HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarkW7, 27 Feb 2009.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hi all,

Can i get xp onto my second hdd, ive tried putting it in and booting from the disk but it says NTLRD is missing.
    I was thinking maybe i can install xp when its a secondary drive.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Please ignore the below [problem solved]

I have two harddrives a 40gb and a 10gb IDE.

Both work ok. (did)

I had XP loaded on the 40gb for ages and was using it fine but today i got some parts and decided i want to installed xp on the 10gb so i can test other bits.

So i put it in my pc as a second drive - put the xp disk in and installed. seemed ok.

untill i turned my pc off and put my 40gb back in by itself.
    Booted up and it said it cannot read my hardware configuration.

So i thought great!
    Tried the 10gb and now that says something is missing press Ctrl + alt + del to restart.

But..

When i put the 40gb and 10gb in together it boots into the new install (10gb) and the 40gb is showing up and i can see all my files ect.

Any ideas?

Thank you.

Last edited: 1 Mar 2009
  2. azrael-

azrael- I'm special...

You had both drives connected, with the 40GB being the first drive and having Windows on it already? And then you installed XP on the 10GB drive that was connected as the second drive?

If that is indeed the scenario, then the boot files, which always go on the first drive, have been altered to point to the Windows installation on the second drive. The smart thing would have been to disconnect the 40GB drive and install the 10GB drive as the first drive. Or you could presumably have cloned the Windows installation from the 40GB drive.