1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress The Mineral Oil PC - 3/24/2011 - More leaks :(

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by legoman666, 29 Jan 2009.

1. wgy

wgy What's a Dremel?

great mod :blush:

2. sortableturnip

sortableturnip What's a Dremel?

My thought was that the hard drive(s) will vibrate when used, which could cause some ripples in the oil if they are attached to the back plate. Also, I'm assuming that the back plate will be partially submerged in order for the oil to flow completely over the PSU.

BTW, I'm no expert on mineral oil or doing a project like this...these are just thoughts I have ;)

3. legoman666

legoman666 Beat to fit, paint to match.

I think you have more important problems if you're hard drives are vibrating ;) The model is not up to date, the PSU will be a little lower in the oil than it shows in the pic. Keep the comments coming.:thumb:

4. dark4181

dark4181 Ero-sennin-tebayo

Pretty nice scratch build so far. Have you been looking at Hardcore Computers' Reactor PC for inspiration? It has a lot of similarities to what you're doing here

5. legoman666

Thanks :D I've seen that Reactor PC before, but I didn't deliberately try to copy any of it's features. I think a lot of the similarity between different mineral oil cooled computers is due to the fact that it's the most logical design. It'd be hard/impossible to seal the back ports on the motherboard, so the easy thing to do is point the motherboard upwards.

6. dark4181

dark4181 Ero-sennin-tebayo

I hear you. I certainly didn't mean to imply anything negative, on the contrary, I think that yours is impressive, being a home project on a limited budget.

Still, the Reactor is freaking amazing O.O

7. Stormwulf

Stormwulf A mod to far?