1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Bongo PC - Overcomplicating the car-PC

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by PC-Guy, 23 Mar 2009.

1. PC-Guy

PC-Guy Making PC's out of pieces

The Project

You know how building a plain vanilla PC is dead boring these days? Well I've been fitting PC's in my cars for 10 years, since the days of inverters, character displays and DOS mp3 players; and nowadays when you can buy a car PC off the shelf I needed something a bit different to inspire me...

My new PC needed to be mental, it needed to have electrically moved panels, multiple TFT's, internal communications and loads of fabrication.....

I started about a year ago with a spare dashboard out of a scrapper, some spray foam, fibreglass resin and car body filler, and I'm now at the stage where I feel like it may make it into the car this year...

The Car

Mazda Bongo Friendee MPV (yes I know it's a stupid name, those crazee Japanese eh?)

[​IMG]

The Log

As this is a bit of an odd one, I've split the log into sections where I'll run through work so far, then I'll post as I complete something worthwhile.

Headings

Dashboard Structure

[​IMG]

Front Panel

[​IMG]

Lid

[​IMG]

>Click to view<
    [​IMG]

Motherboard Tray

[​IMG]

PSU tray

[​IMG]

These were taster shots for each section, I'll show the build in more detail soon, starting with modding the dashboard to create a PC enclosure..

Steve

2. Ashaman

Ashaman M'hael

:jawdrop:

This is insane!
    The disign on the dash is really cool!

I'm going to follow this log! 'Cause this most be the sickest carputer I've seen, ever!

3. Oreon_237

Oreon_237 CHEA BRO!

nice work on the dash

4. PC-Guy

Dashboard buildup

When I started this project I realised there was no way I could work on it in the car I was driving to work every day, so I started with the dash from a scrapped Bongo.

[​IMG]