1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Vista?

Discussion in 'Software' started by MarkW7, 13 Apr 2009.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

What is the best version of vista?

I have seen;

Home Basic
    Home Premium
    Business
    Ultimate

Are there more?
    Which is the best to have?

2. azrael-

azrael- I'm special...

None of them. If anything, wait for Windows 7.

3. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

I have the Win7 demo but i havnt tried Vista yet, will be for another machine.

4. capnPedro

capnPedro Hacker. Maker. Engineer.

Home Premium. Everything you need, without the price of Ultimate.

5. *Alex*

*Alex* What's a Dremel?

i use business does everything i want plus i get legit copies for free, yay for msdnaa =)

6. notatoad

notatoad pretty fing wonderful

qft. but 7 beats any version of vista, by a lot.

Last edited: 13 Apr 2009
  7. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

My laptop has Buisness, and my desktop has Ultimate edition.
    Ultimate edition was free for me. As the one on my laptop, I select Buisness because I did not care about the extra software of Home Premium (DVD Maker, Movie Maker, etc..), as I have them on my desktop if ever, and did not care about Media Center. I wanted more the Advance backup'ing features of Vista (Complete PC backup, which does an image for your computer which you an store anywhere you want)

Buisness edition has one "hidden" feature loss that is nor mentioned anywhere. Is that it does not come with a 32/64-bit DVD playback codec. So despite having Vista Buisness 64-bit. I am stuck using WMP11 32-bit with the provided PowerDVD Dell edition, 32-bit codec. :( The 32/64-bit DVD playback codec is only in Home Premium and Ultimate Edition for Vista (apparently it will be different for Win7..., but we have to wait and see).