1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice PC for sister

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Invictus., 8 Aug 2009.

1. Invictus.

Invictus. Minimodder

Well my sister only has a laptop and for a xmas present I'm thinking along with my older sister on going 1/2 on a PC that will play Sims 3 (her fav. game) The min specs for it are -

* 2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
    * 1 GB RAM
    * At least 6.5 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB additional space for custom content
    * 128 MB Video Card with support for Pixel Shader 2.0

Would you say its possible to build a PC for say no more than £200 max that can play it? or even buy a prebuild that will run it.. Oh and preferably be a small case to fit in her small room and price doesnt include monitor as we have plenty of them

Thanks in advance if anyone knows / thinks this is possible.

2. cmd

cmd What's a Dremel?

I have no experience whatsoever in your kind of situation, but a few things popped into my head:
    • Dell Outlet
    • Some of these are cheap
    • eBay the whole pc?
    • Get a super cheap pc which you can fit a graphics card in (could eBay just the graphics card)?
    • £200 might be hard, perhaps try to get your parents to chip in some.
    Out of those, I'd say eBay-the-whole-thing is your best bet if you're stuck under £200. Obviously eBay has its risks.

Just some ideas.

edit:
    forgot to mention anything about building your own:
    Usually prebuilt pcs are better value when it comes to the super cheap, however I don't know anything about self building anything less than an i7 build :)

Last edited: 8 Aug 2009
  3. TheMusician

TheMusician Audio/Tech Enthusiast/Historian

[​IMG]

If you have an existing hard drive you can use, then this should be able to play it on high. Maybe even max, if you have a 1280x1024 monitor or lower.