1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Competitions...

Discussion in 'Feedback & Suggestions' started by Fod, 24 Sep 2009.

1. Fod

Fod what is the cheesecake?

OK just to start off, this isn't a moan at having the competitions open to complete noobs etc blahblah, I fully understand the need to bring new blood to the site.

What I will suggest, however, is questions (or even a series of questions) based on the content buried in the site and forums. That way at least you'll generate more traffic/ad views from new users, they're more likely to be enamoured with the fantastic, informative and/or entertaining content here on Bit and come back for moar cheesecake. Additionally, existing users will be rewarded for their loyalty by having an easier to answer question.

Does that make any sense? Now, hire me as your new digital marketing exec.

2. M7ck

M7ck Ⓜod Ⓜaster

I agree, most (if not all) competitions should be opened to active members of the community. As an example in the win a HD 5870 thread out of 301 replies 146 of those are members who have just registered for the competition. Im sure a lot of entries you will recieve wont even have bothered to register with the site but all these guys have just as much a chance of winning than someone with 5k+ posts and who genuinely contribute to the site. As well as making the competition questions more site related it might be an idea to have a minimum post count or have been registered for a minimum amount of time.

3. Arnaud31

Arnaud31 Bit Tech Noob

May be you are right but this competition could be a good thing to bring some news members like me ! I will discover posts and try to contribute to the site...

4. Fod

Fod what is the cheesecake?

no, no, that's not what i am saying. By all means have them open to new members. Just make the requirement a little more, i dunno, 'dig through our content and see more ads'?

5. M7ck

M7ck Ⓜod Ⓜaster