1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Help with fans, batterys and volts

Discussion in 'Modding' started by MarkW7, 8 Nov 2009.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Last edited: 20 Nov 2010
  2. BlackWhizz

BlackWhizz What's a Dremel?

Batteries dont live forever.

I think you can better use a Universal adapter (which can be found at your local hardware store. On such adapters you have to make shure its a AC to DC adapter. Then its easy.

Unbox the adapter, find out whats the + and whats the - and solder your fan wiring (red = plus, black = min) to the correct cables. Also make shure the soldered pieces are insulated (heatshrink/electrical tape).

3. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

The unit will only be on once a week for backup's but will be left overnight.

I was thinking i could re-charge batterys.

4. capnPedro

capnPedro Hacker. Maker. Engineer.

I'd bet the fan only spins up when ther temperature is over a certain range.

5. Elton

Elton Officially a Whisky Nerd

Most 120mm molex fans run at 5v.

With that said get an 5v adaptor to run it. But then you can't adjust fan speed.

6. dark_avenger

dark_avenger Minimodder

pretty much every 120mm fan i've seen in a PC is 12v.
    i'd do what BlackWhizz said and buy a AC-DC "wall-wart" not going to cost much more than the batterys and will not need to be recharged.

if it's only running a few hours a week do u really need a fan?
    also is the unit still under warranty?

7. Elton

Elton Officially a Whisky Nerd

huh, that's odd, most fans I've seen are 5v..

Then again I don't remember if they were 120mm..

So my apologies.

8. PureSilver

PureSilver E-tailer Tailor

That would be my first guess. How old is it? Maybe its normally passively cooled - its 9/10ths hard drives, no?

9. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

@ dark avenger

Nope, out of warranty.

@ Pure silver