1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finish degree or do something else?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Igniseus, 6 Dec 2009.

1. freshsandwiches

freshsandwiches Can I do science to it?

If I were you I would go and talk to the careers adviser at your uni. Even once you finish your course you usually allowed access to one for 3 years. They may or may not be any use but they'll have information such as where people who done your course ended up.

I'm not an IT professional, I completed a degree in Chemistry and got a 2:2. I'm not the most academic person in the world either and struggled through as well.

Having a degree of any kind opens up so many doors to things you may not have considered. Sure it's hard to find work, but look at all the transferable skills you have as a graduate. Your probably good at maths, literate. You probably have good problem solving skills. You've came this far so your capable and committed.

When I was doing my final year at this stage I fluffed two exams. I passed them but got low grades and was staring a 3rd in the face. I struggled through and got on with it. That was 6 years ago.

I spent 5 or so years as an analytical chemist. Now I'm changing career and have moved into teaching.

Put the work in, get through, you only have till May then it's over. 6 months. No time at all.

At least you can say you tried.

good luck :D

2. Bogomip

Bogomip ... Yo Momma

Im not slanting having work experience, because work experience is a fantastic asset, and most of the really good people only get there because they have been doing it as long as they have, degree or not.