1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Remote Desktop Gaming? Possible? Practical?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MiNiMaL_FuSS, 29 Dec 2009.

1. MiNiMaL_FuSS

MiNiMaL_FuSS ƬӇЄƦЄ ƁЄ ƇƠƜƧ ӇЄƦЄ.

Hi Guys,

I'm playing alot of 'Football Manager 2010' at the moment, and wish that my little Ascer Aspire One was good enough to run it properly so I could play it in my living room away from my main system.

I was wondering if it was possible to connect my main rig and the aser aspire via remote desktop so that I could control FM2010 via the Aspire downstairs but the actual work and processing was being done by my system upstairs?

Is this possible? Any done it? and if so how do i do it, I've no experience with remote desktops etc at all!

If not won't somebody please hurry up and invent a wirless monitor with usb ports for keyboard and mouse!

Cheers!

2. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

technically yes, but graphics might suffer, as its just a mirror

just go and download UltraVNC

run the server on the games machine and install and viewer on the netbook, from the netbook use the games machine name or Ip address to connect assuming there networked

3. MaverickWill

MaverickWill Dirty CPC Mackem

Might also be a delay on the image. Arsenal could have put one past you, and you wouldn't know about it for 5 seconds.

4. MiNiMaL_FuSS

MiNiMaL_FuSS ƬӇЄƦЄ ƁЄ ƇƠƜƧ ӇЄƦЄ.

Not too worried about image delay, sounds worth ago, I'll have a tinker with VNC (Yes they're networked via wirless atm, although probably setting my wired up again soon)

Main rig runs win 7 and netbook runs XP...will this make a difference?

5. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

shouldn't make a difference, i VNC between XP and ubuntu 9.10 it dosen't matter hance the sheer beauty of VNC.

My worry is the wireless connect, they suck when it come to VNC, 10/100 minimum no questions asked as you've been told! lol!

6. javaman