1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project Hephaestus, 4 Mar

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by aglaser, 30 Apr 2010.

1. aglaser

aglaser What's a Dremel?

This is my first attempt at building a case, or really modding at all. The case itself is for a school project -- I have to complete a 120 hour project to graduate from my high school. It's coming down to the wire... but I've already logged 130+ hours simply creating the sketchup model. The next couple weeks are going to be a whirlwind of cutting, drilling, tapping, and smacking my face on the desk when I make mistakes. Without further ado:

Last edited: 5 May 2010
  2. aglaser

aglaser What's a Dremel?

Here are four isometric views of the current iteration of my design. I don't expect it to be changing much, except for details like hole placement. It's pretty standard fare... my main criteria for this (just the interior) are functionality and ease of building -- the design here can be built out of nought but aluminum angle and sheet metal, with relatively simple tools. I do plan to put the radiator in a separate duct along the right side to help with airflow.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

These are the results of my first and second trips to the hardware store, respectively. The sheet metal is currently shipping, but I've got basically everything else I need, save some angle brackets that I need to pick up at a later date. The centerpiece of the collection is the carbide blade for our chop saw. It's expensive, but man can it cut!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My father providing some brute force to get the old blade loose from our saw.

[​IMG]

The first piece of aluminum jumps for freedom!

[​IMG]

Second cut in progress...

[​IMG]