1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Bit of career/education help needed

Discussion in 'General' started by Hoffs, 15 May 2010.

1. Hoffs

Hoffs Seek

Ok, I'm currently aged 17 in Year 12 at a decent Grammar school about to sit my Summer exams.

I have very little idea about what I want to do at Uni but I definitely want to go.

I've been looking into studying computing but have several things to ask about studying this.
    (The IT department in my school is useless!)

Background knowledge

11 GCSE's (8 A's 3 B's including ICT)

Currently study Maths, Business Studies, P.E (Yes Nerds can play sport!) and Chemistry (Which I'll most probably drop next year) as well as already having AS Geography at Grade C

I can probably predict myself around 3 B's at the end of A2

I've been studying computers in depth for the past 2 years at a hobby level. I've been reading articles, looking at kit, researching the basics of a computer, troubleshooting and fixing my own and family and friend's computers and eventually built my own i5 system around September 2009.

I've always wanted to know the clever bits behind computing as it is something that really interests me and teachers have always been banging on about studying a subject at Uni that you enjoy and have a passion for. Which I believe computers are.

But here's the problem... I've only ever formally studied Half course GCSE ICT. I scored an A in this and found it a walk in the park but I'm wondering if this and A2 maths is sufficient enough to allow me to study this at uni. I have no experience whatsoever of programming or writing in different languages but something about learning how and what they do is something that just tickles my tastebuds.

Some questions