1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Backup Noob

Discussion in 'Software' started by oceanblue1, 4 Aug 2010.

1. oceanblue1

oceanblue1 What's a Dremel?

Hi, I have just upgraded to Win7 64bit and knowing how important backing up is, I need to buy a new hard drive space for backing my C:

However, I am a complete noob to Win7 backup & restore. So I would like to ask:

1. If the size of my C: hard drive is 1TB but only about half full, when I use Windows Backup to save a drive image, would I still need the backup drive to be 1TB? Or would it only need 500GB? i.e. Does Win Backup need to copy like for like including the empty space for the image.

2. Although I don't expect to use a lot of hard drive space in the future, what is the ideal size for the backup drive bearing in my mind my C: is 1TB. Would I need my backup drive to be slightly larger like a 1.5TB as there would be incremental save and restore point?

3. Is it sufficient to just let win 7 do a backup without choosing to do a full drive image as this would save alot of space over time?

2. mrhrk01

mrhrk01 What's a Dremel?

I asked the same question, about a couple of months ago i think.
    1) The ISO image size will br the size of your used hard drive space. So if your hard drive size is 1TB and you have used 20 GB, then the ISO image will be 20 GB(or less if you use compression).

2) The windows restore will only restore the windows OS settings to the time the restore snapshot was taken (Some one correct me if I am wrong). I think a 1.5 TB hard drive would be a good choice, as your backup hard drive will probably begin to full up quickly if you do backups regularly(dependent on which backup type).

3) This depends entirely on you, how often you work on your PC, how often do you want to save, do you want a back up of an ISO image and without an ISO image or not ?