1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Project Pheonix

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by falcongrey, 9 Aug 2010.

1. RichardShah

RichardShah What's a Dremel?

Glad you found a solution.

Back to the hole, I'm new to all this but I heard fiberglass reinforced body filler is good for these things. But buying a new product is that, buying (spendng money) to fix a small thing like that. Maybe it is worth trying to find something else to do with it.

Sorry I couldn't help more, but I'll try keep an open mind and see what can be done with it!!

2. falcongrey

falcongrey Master of Nothing, Student of All.

Well, haven't gotten a solution yet for the Cool-n-Quiet part. I'm having a feeling that Asus won't bother with it as it is an older board and Windows 7 is not one of the 'listed' operating systems on the board's specification page. In fact, Windows 7 wasn't even around when this board was released.

As for the hole. I'm thinking of possibly using the main to make a division appear to be there.

3. confusis

confusis Kiwi-modder

Awesome you posted your log! Good to see I'm not the only one f'n around with dual CPU boards. Maybe we'll start a new trend?

Just keep at it with the modding - I get quite bad shakes when I hold tools/sit in certain ways so I'm shocked to see my lines are straight!

4. falcongrey

Ok, the new heatsinks are in. They are MASSIVE compared to the old ones. I had to take the 3.5in drive bay out in order to install the new heatsinks. Moved the 120mm fans out of the case and attached a single 120mm fan to the side pannel.

[​IMG]

On installing the second heatsink I found they were so massive that they actually butted up against each other leaving no real airflow for the hot air to blow through except against the heatsinks between them.

[​IMG]