1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small Form Factor Multimedia Pc for Living Room

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Frohicky1, 24 Aug 2010.

1. Frohicky1

Frohicky1 Awaits his moosey fate . . .

Hi all,

I'm planning to build a small form factor media pc for the living room, to play videos of my various networked hard drives, and the tinterwebz.

It doesn't need to be amazing, and my criteria are thus:

*Cheap
    *Play 1080p movies smoothly
    *Support a decent sound card like an Asus Xonar D2 or D2X, or possibly HDAV1.3 Deluxe, I'm still unsure
    *Be completely passively cooled

I'm new to media pcs, atom, ion, fusion, etc, and will gratefully lap up any advice that comes my way.

Muchos gratsias amigos.

2. TheNox

TheNox What's a Dremel?

Hi,

If you could define cheap for me that'd be a great start please.
    Is something like this (link) what you were thinking of? only passively cooled?

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-249-OK&groupid=43&catid=1509&subcat=

If you can wait until AMD's fusion CPU's come out in Q1 2011 then personally I would do so.

If you can't wait then the i3 (the pre-built overclockers one comes out at the same price as building it yourself btw) or the atom are probably the way to go, zotac do a decent atom board with ION graphics allowing the expansion slot to be used for a good sound card.

But if you could provide a rough price range then it'd make it much easier :)

3. rob the bank

rob the bank What's a Dremel?

HI for cheap this is a pretty good spec:
    http://www.easypc-uk.com/htpc-media...alcore-hdmi-media-centre-htpc-full-1080p.html

I would stay clear of Atom ,and Ion, they just have not got the grunt for HD playback.
    And if you want a dedicated soundcard you will need a PC with at least half height PCI slots if not full height so you may as well use standrad Micro ATX motherboard and a low power AMD CPU.