1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project Transistorized - Updated 29th October, Build started!

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Joey9801, 26 Aug 2010.

1. Joey9801

Joey9801 Eric the Half a Bee

UPDATE

Right, it's time for a (very overdue) update :)

I do however have a very good excuse for my absence of updates though; Firstly my copy of Operation Flashpoint arrived from amazon on the 1st september, which took a fair amount of time to complete on hardcore mode :p

Secondly, a lovely box arrived from amazon on the 5th containing BF:BC2, which needless to say has been incredibly addictive :)
    (if anyone's seen a complete newby called joey9801 crashing hundreds of heli's; thats me :p)

Last but far from least, I've just started sixth form to do my A-levels, so I no longer have the endless expanse of the summer holidays to design stuff in :(

Anyways, back to the update:

If you remember from last time, we completed the design for the ALU (which is gonna take up more than 600 transistors on it's own :p), and we laid down the foundations for the rest of the computer with the first revision of the instruction set. having a set of instructions is no good if you have nowhere to put them, so the first thing I am going to be designing today is the program memory.

The first thing I am going to be designing is the program memory. I previously stated that it would be made out of SR latch based registers, but even for a small 32 line program, this would take up more than 1.5 thousand transistors; I simply dont have the sanity to connect that many components up. Instead what we can do is use DIP switches such as these;
    [​IMG]
    and put an N-channel Mosfet between them and the bus.
    [​IMG]Instruction Memory by joey9801, on Flickr
    3 potential lines of program