1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cardboard SFF (need a name)

Discussion in 'Modding' started by karbonKid, 16 Dec 2010.

1. karbonKid

karbonKid Minimodder

Long time, no mod, folks! It's nice to be back. I didn't really 'advertise' my last 2 mods but I'm wanting to catch up with friends here, old and new :thumb:...

So this thing will be an SFF workstation scratch built out of cardboard. Now you may all be laughing right now, but I studied architecture and I know what cardboard can do. I will liberate it from land-fills and thrust it into the modding limelight. Well, not quite - Aims are smallest possible footprint, widest possible graphics card support and shortest possible construction time and cost (hence cardboard..)

Oh, and one more thing - if my posts seem kind of enigmatic, they're not - I'm just too lazy to write.

So, without further ado, I present - some sketches*!
    *Please do not confuse the word 'sketch' with 'Sketchup' - I dislike that piece of software with a passion. These were modelled and rendered in Blender.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Nothing is set in stone (or carboard, for that matter) yet but I have a rough idea of where I'm going and it is not elucidated properly in any of the above images.. they are only sketches. muahahahaa...

2. bulldogjeff

bulldogjeff The modding head is firmly back on.

Can't beat a good bit of ghetto modding:thumb:

3. rayson

rayson Damn sure it was legal

thats a great idea
    a question though what motherboard form factor that is

4. karbonKid

karbonKid Minimodder

Updates..

It is half-SSI. SSI is basically E-ATX size, with a few more holes. So motherboard dimensions are about 150x340mm.

This is the board - http://www.rioworks.com/server/Product/ViewProduct.asp?View=NK12X