1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Future proof network

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Modsbywoz, 4 Jan 2011.

1. Modsbywoz

Modsbywoz Multimodder

I will be buying a house later this year with the ability to totally redecorate top to bottom.

I have one question to ask. As far as future proofing goes what would be the best network cable to use?

Bear in mind I wish to future proof for a fair amount of years.

So what would be best to use? Cat5e, Cat6? Fibre?

Your input is greatly appreciated.

2. Picarro

Picarro What's a Dremel?

Most likely Cat6 - but I am no expert on this.

3. saspro

saspro IT monkey

I usually run 4x cat 5E/cat6 sockets & 2x fibre to every room.

Cat 5E/6 is going to be fine for the near future with fibre handy for my SAN storage.

4. Jipa

Jipa Avoiding the "I guess.." since 2004

I'd be happy with CAT6. Doesn't cost an arm and leg, and gets the job done. Ofcourse if you plan to stream absolutely everything and move around terabytes of data then fiber might make sense.. If you describe your use as anywhere near "normal", I'd say the CAT6 will be just fine.

5. Valo

Valo Minimodder

cat5e is okay for gigabit ethernet provided you buy quality stuff. I am running cat5e in every room + 16 port gbit netgear switch and it works quite well so far :) (there's like 14 sockets total)

i can stream anything to my ps3 from wherever around the house without any issues whatsoever. In fact i could probably do that over 802.11n anyway (laptop to n router to ps3 via gbit ethernet)

6. adam_bagpuss

adam_bagpuss Have you tried turning it off/on ?

how long do you intend to stay in the house ?

id also say Cat5E/cat6 is good for now especailly on just something like a home network

7. Fingers66

Fingers66 Kiwi in London