1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Do I need to upgrade anything?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tele1952, 21 Jan 2011.

1. Tele1952

Tele1952 What's a Dremel?

Hey guys, I've been little out of touch with new hardware over the past year since building my rig (Dec 09) as I've been working my socks off in the music industry. Just wanted to ask if I need to upgrade any components?

I've also noticed the start up is a little slow, I'm a little amateur so is there a safe way of speeding things up or should I ask my IT man?

To SSD or not to SDD? Are they still in their guinea pig stages?

Here's the toaster: |P6T Deluxe V2|Intel i7 920|6gb Corsair RAM|1TB WD 32mb|Dell 2209WA 22"|
    |Sapph ATI 5850|Win 7 64bit|CM Storm Scout|XONAR Essence STX|Corsair 850W|Sony AD-7240S|Razer Deathadder|Eclispe II Keyboard|

It's getting a little noisy and cluttered so maybe a new case? Bitfenix Colossus sound good?

Many thanks

Tim

2. Slazher

Slazher What's a Dremel?

3. meandmymouth

meandmymouth Multimodder

Okay, firstly, you do not need to upgrade any components, it should be a pretty speedy rig.

As for a slightly slow start up you may well have a large number of programs starting up with your computer causing it to go a tad slow.

In the start menu if you type in msconfig and enter you will shown a screen.
    Under the general tab select start up, then under the start up tab, here you can deselect any program that you don't need or want to start when you turn on your computer. BE CAREFUL with what you deselect. Things like skype, itunes, bit torrent, windows live messenger, F@H are the types of programs that you can stop. This can make a noticeable difference to start up times.

As for the case I would avoid the Colossus as it's rubbish at cooling! There are a lot of other better cases out there, just have a look at the reviews on here and you will see what I mean.