1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – Complete Cor Leonis

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Attila, 28 Feb 2011.

1. brinkz0r

brinkz0r Minimodder

Good luck with the project Attila, I'll be watching closely ;)

2. Attila

Attila still thinking....

Yeah I think I know who you're talking about, his work is terrific. Unfortunately I cant use that stuff because all the alu will be anodised. It will look fine when all finished. Thanks. ;)

Haha welcome aboard John. :)

Thanks. :)

Thanks mate. :) Yes you can probably tell that I'm not overly concerned with corrosion. I've worked on many cars over the years and most have mixed metal cooling systems. I've seen what tap water does to the system. The pick-up I've been driving for the last 13 years has a cast iron block, an alloy head and brass radiator and heater element, Bi-metal thermostat etc. It's always been topped up with the green stuff and is still in excellent condition. There are some very good anti corrosion additives out there and I just have to use some.

Thanks a lot brinkz. :thumb:

I may as well include this small update here as I showed a pic yesterday.

When I need to make small parts I always turn to the offcut pile under the bench. These pieces are from the base plate of Na'ir. 8 mm thick.

[​IMG]

First, a corner is cut out and filed square. Then the shape can be marked up against this reference and cut and filed.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Then mounting holes are drilled into both the tray and the corner brackets. The tray has 3mm holes for the M3 screws to pass through and these are also countersunk. The corner pieces are tapped.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

It's very strong and rigid now.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now to this part will attach two of the three main bulkheads. But I'll leave that till the next (first) update. :)

3. awratten

awratten What's a Dremel?