1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Budget Build Advice i3 2100 vs Phenom II X4 955 BE

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Comrade Penguin, 1 May 2011.

1. Comrade Penguin

Comrade Penguin What's a Dremel?

Budget: £650 including monitor, tower and OS. Only the keyboard and mouse are being kept. Being a student I can get Windows 7 for a smidge under £40 leaving around £600 for everything else.

Main uses of intended build: Just gaming initally. I have an aging iMac that I'm currently dual booting which is more than capable of doing my web browsing, word processing etc. so I'll keep that for day to day stuff and the new one can be just for gaming plus storage.

Parts required: My main point of confusion is the CPU/Mobo. I'm already pretty settled on:

Sapphire 5850 Xtreme edition - £108 OCUK
    Dell U2311H (refurbished) - £150 OCUK (Has anyone got any experience with these and do you still get the 3 year warranty?)
    Antec Earthwatts 500w PSU - £52 Scan (Or whatever decent branded PSU is on Today Only)
    4GB DDR3 - £36 Scan
    1tb Samsung F3 - £38 Scan
    DVD drive - £15 Scan
    OCUK Postage - £12

That leaves me around £190 for Case, CPU and Mobo (plus any cooling).

An i3 2100 + a cheap H67 mobo comes to £160ish leaving £30 for a Coolermaster 335 or similar.

A X4 955 + an Asus M4A87TD would come to £170ish so I'd probably have to stretch a bit for a decent case. And I'm guessing I'd need to add an Artic Cooling Freezer 7 pro for £15 if I wanted to do any serious overclocking.

From what I've read they'll be close in performance depending on whether the game uses four cores or not. The i3 offers a clear upgrade path but I have to give up USB 3.0 etc to get it under budget and hence the uprgadability becomes less attractive.

Any alternatives to these two are obviously welcome. I haven't OC for a few years now so I'm a bit wary the G6950 on this basis.