1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Your current job?

Discussion in 'General' started by acsnet83, 1 May 2011.

1. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

Manager of the Software Development Department for a Major Audit Firm.
    Also run my own web dev shack part time.

No degree, but various diplomas and certifications.

2. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

I work as a first line IT technician. I love my job.

I have a degree in creative music and sound technology and a couple of microsoft certifications - not full MSCE.

3. Submerged_2010

Submerged_2010 What's a Dremel?

1st Line IT Technician? Isn't that a call centre based position?

4. Margo Baggins

I dont get what you are getting at....

Essentially yes, but we are working as second line's really. As normally a first line would not carry out any fixes. I do anything from full system reprep's, virus/malware removal, repair corrupt registries, diagnosing software/hardware faults, manually remove corrupt software, healthchecks etc. etc. But we also repair laptops, so there is a lot of hardware work as well. When we have a few more clients we are going to be hiring a huge volume of first lines, and the small current team of first lines will move up to second line (job title: we already on second line salary) and the couple of second lines we have will move up to third lines.