1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TVs 28"+ monitor/tv recommendations

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GeorgeStorm, 1 Jun 2011.

1. GeorgeStorm

GeorgeStorm Aggressive PC Builder

Hey,
    As above, am looking to upgrade from my current 24" monitor to something bigger :)
    Wondering what people's suggestions are?
    Looked at the hannspree 27.5 16:10 monitor, the hannspree 32" fullHD TV, and the 2nd hand 30" DELL 2560x1600 available on the forums.
    I've been using my AOC 416V for maybe 2 years now, and it's been more than fine, only reason I'm even considering getting rid of it is since I watch all of my films/TV/any media on my computer, a larger screen would be awesome.

So, any recommendations?

docodine likes this.
  2. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

I had a Hanns-G 28" and it's a good monitor, but definitely in the budget sector compared to other big screens. Just make sure you get it new so you get a warranty with it should anything go wrong. The quality of the actual display is very good, even though TN panels of that size can be a pest given the limited viewing angles.

The Dell 30" is not only a size upgrade but a considerable resolution upgrade too, and it will likely have a higher quality panel (IPS or PVA) given the target market of these kinds of displays. If you want to spoil yourself I'd say go with the Dell. :)

3. GeorgeStorm

I don't mind being in the budget sector, it's where my last 2 screens were, and I have been more than happy with them.
    The DELL is really pushing my budget, and it is 2nd hand, so I dunno.
    And I'm not trying to spoil myself really, the purchase is self sufficient, I'm only using money I can get from selling bits and pieces, (some gpus and my current monitor in this case)

4. BitHeroes

BitHeroes What's a Dremel?