1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New folder GTX 570

Discussion in 'bit-tech Folding Team' started by THE_EVIL_RAPIER, 24 Jun 2011.

1. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

THE_EVIL_RAPIER What's a Dremel?

Hey All,
    I'm kinda new to this folding stuff. I have done it in the past for a little while but then changed to ATI and couldn't get it to work.

I'm now back and interested in doing this part time as i only have one PC. I've splashed out a bit and got a Gainward Phantom GTX 570. But i also have a 3.0Ghz DC E8400. I've got the GPU2 client i think..? And it's working away as we speak. but i don't know if this is the best client to run or if i should change.

I'm running Windows 7 64 and don't have linux installed and don't really want it.

Thanks for any help.:thumb:

2. Lizard

Lizard @ Scan R&D

Welcome to the forum and team :)

GPU2 is the right client for your GTX 570, it should output around 15k ppd, which is very good for a graphics card.

You'll also be able to fold on the CPU too, though being a dual-core, it might actually slow down the CPU. Somebody else with a dual-core (I don't have one anymore) might be able to give you more advice.

3. *brian*

*brian* What's a Dremel?

Yeah, run the GPU2 client along with the CPU client on a single CPU core so a core is free to feed the GPU with data.

I use GPU-Z to check the graphics card's load is running at close to 99%, if it drops below 95% then I think that's a good indication that the CPU is bottlenecking.

4. Dave_Goodchild

Dave_Goodchild Another CPC refugee

Unless I've missed something the GPU 3 client is required for Fermi??

5. TaRkA DaHl

TaRkA DaHl Modder

My thoughts too....

As a side note, the CPU client will likely give very little points, and have an adverse effect on the graphics card too. I would still to GPU folding on that rig, but thats just me.