1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Help me choose: mATX Sandybridge Mobo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Huge, 18 Jul 2011.

1. Huge

Huge aka Dave

I'm ordering the parts to make my own computer, hopefully tonight! There are two things stopping me:

1. Which mobo do I buy? I don't want to spend more than 100 pounds if I can help it and I'd prefer mATX.

2. What RAM do I buy? I know I want 8GB in total of DDR3 1600MHz and I want to spend around 50-60 pounds.

Here are the other components:
    CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K
    GPU: XFX HD 6870 Black Edition
    PSU: Corsair 430w CX
    HDD: Samsung 1Tb Spinpoint F3

What do I have to decide when buying mobos? What types of RAM are on offer? This is my first build - please help me make the last two decisions!

2. fdbh96

fdbh96 What's a Dremel?

I would say drop the ram to 4gb for the moment if that is possible then you could get a p8p67 m-pro and that will be able to OC the i5 better :)

Other than that I don't know any other good matx SB mobos :thumb:

3. DeX

DeX Mube Codder

I am putting together a very similar looking build and also decided on the p8p67 m-pro. But, I have very specific requirements. I want SATA 3 support so that at some point in the future I and throw in a nice Vertex 3 or whatever SSDs are tearing up the benchmarks at the time. Also I want to overclock which pretty much means I have to go for Intel's P67 or X68 chipsets which cost a significant chunk more than the H61 or H67.

From what I've heard, you can't really go wrong with the p8p67 m-pro but it's £105 so slightly over your budget. There are plenty of decent cheaper mATX boards out there but be careful if you're looking to overclock, or if you're planning on using the SATA 3 ports AND a big PCI-E card like your 6870 because I believe some boards (such as the p8p67 m (non pro)) are layed out such that the graphics card blocks the SATA 3 ports :duh: