1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice [NOOB]Trying to make a decent gaming rig for less $$

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Thatdeadhamster55, 29 Aug 2011.

1. Thatdeadhamster55

Thatdeadhamster55 What's a Dremel?

I'm new to building a computer and I'm looking for a decent build that can run games like Battlefield: Bad Company 2 at decent settings. Not so much ultra, just enough to see what I'm doing and actually be able to play online with out too much of a hassle. Ive been looking around and I've found some parts that seem to match what I need and I'll put that at the end. For people who would rather work from scratch I have this:

Budget:<=$550

Main uses of intended build: Gaming/and some school work.

Parts required:I currently have a monitor, keyboard, and a mouse, so everything that goes inside the tower.

Monitor resolution: 1600x900 HD

Storage requirements:4GB RAM(2x2 works)/1TB Hard drive

Any motherboard requirements (no. of USB, Xfire/SLI, fan headers):3 minimum USB ports/put a maybe on Xfire, If its cheap go for it.

So this is the build I was thinking of, feel free to tweak it to make it cheaper, or work to what I want. Or add things that I might've left out.

Spinpoint F3 Hard drive

G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 RAM

HAF912 Case

Radeon 6850 Video Card

AMD Phenom II x4 CPU Chip

Asus M4A88TD-V AM3/AMD Mother Board

Antec BP550 Plus 550W Power Supply

I'm missing a disc drive from this build, so if you choose to add one keep it cheap.

This build comes to around $620 because of tax and whatnot, but it may be manageable for me. See what you guys can do to make it cheaper and keep the same power.

I'm hoping you guys can help, but if I'm a lost cause let me know, and I'll just find a simple prebuilt.

2. Jaybles

Jaybles Minimodder

Will you be over clocking?

Below has $60 of Mail In Rebate. If you can afford it add a Thermaltake Frio or similar.
    [​IMG]