1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Pipe Dream Server Case

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Monty, 29 Aug 2011.

1. Monty

Monty What's a Dremel?

I was at varsity, day dreaming my way through a boring lecture when I came up with an idea for a Home Server case.

After drawing up a quick plan, and deciding on the hardware, I started playing with sketch up.

Hardware:
    MicroATX board
    i7 chip
    8GB RAM
    RAID Card
    8 x 3.5" HDDs
    3 x 2.5" SSDs
    Corsair AX850 PSU (Pretty much the only thing that I have decided on properly - I like it's size!)

Cooling:
    Pump
    Reservoir
    4 x 120mm quiet fans
    Tubing
    CPU Block
    240mm Radiator
    (Note: I know nothing about water cooling, I just chose components that appeared to fit in the sketchup model - If i do get around to building this, I'll do a lot of research in to all things water cooling)

In the plans for the case, I decided on 300mm x 300mm x 300mm
    The inside would be divided in to 3 'floors':
    Bottom being 140mm tall - this will contain the Mobo, boot drives, psu, pump and reservoir.
    Middle being 10mm tall - to hide all the wires in, allowing for neat wiring (i hope)
    Top being 140mm tall - this will have the 8 3.5" HDDs in custom made brackets, the 4 fans and the radiator
    (with the extra 10mm for material width)

Now for the (funky, crude) sketchup models!
    Front View:
    [​IMG]

Top View:
    [​IMG]

Side View:
    [​IMG]

Oblique View:
    [​IMG]

2. asura

asura jack of all trades

You could probably all but double the amount of HDD's on your top floor if you dropped it and the service cavity lower and stacked the drives vertically.

3. Monty

Monty What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the suggestion asura.

Again, during a lecture, I had a complete idea rework, which I'll sketch up and post soon (I hope - exam week this week, and then straight in to the next academic block :( ).