1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking Sudden shutdown issue

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by monkiboi, 5 Feb 2012.

1. monkiboi

monkiboi Minimodder

Hello :) Apologies in advance for the long post.

E8400 E0 Stepping A
    Biostar I45 TPower motherboard
    OCZ reaper 1066Mhz 2Gb x 2 matched pair
    Coolermaster 500w psu (might be 450 actually)
    Powercolor HD 5850 - stock clocks Acellero S1.2 cooler
    Windows 7 x64 sp1

(I can't find where to add a signature yet)

I've been running the above setup for about 3 years with two of them with an FSB of 400 and 9x multiplier. I had the ram at 800Mhz. I've always been a bit nervous about overclocking and it was a shared pc for a while so I left it at that and it's been rock solid.

Recently I've become a bit more adventurous and decided to up my ram to a different divider giving me 960Mhz. The vram in the bios showed 2.064v when set on auto so i set it to +0.1v and after a couple of failed boots set rcomp on setting 3 - I'm hoping some of you will have used the Biostar board and will know what I'm talking about :)

Anyway, it booted fine and I ran Prime95 for about 20mins without errors (I know but i get impatient and technically the ram was still underclocked). The next day I was playing Guild Wars, I exited out of the game and the pc shutdown. I tried to recreate it but couldn't so left it as coincidence until it did the exact same thing the next day.

I set the memory settings back and it's been fine for the last week. Yesterday I decided to put the ram back up to 960Mhz and all was fine for about 12 hours until I was doing something in windows control panel to do with desktop compositing and window shadows and it shut down again.