1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays 24" Monitor Suggestions - £150 Budget

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DanFerret, 11 Feb 2012.

1. DanFerret

DanFerret What's a Dremel?

Been after a monitor for a while but have never been able to decide what one I want!

Any suggestions welcome.

Will be used for normal office type work really. Gaming doesn't get any more serious than FM.

2. Zero_UK

Zero_UK What's a Dremel?

Asus VS247H LED is probably a good choice. I have been using a V243H (LCD) for the past 3-4 years and it is simply a wonderful monitor.

I haven't played too much with the settings - just different presets i.e. text, graphics etc and you get some really nice looking settings and repose rate has been fine from my experience with monitors. VS247H is just a newer LED variation meaning it should be just as good if not better with more features i.e. HDMI.

One problem with both of these monitors - the stand/support is static. Meaning it can not adjust in vertical height or go portrait (however in the sub £180 range I think that applies for all monitors). For me it was a little low down so I have it propped up on a thick book/flat tool box so it meets the typical recommended monitor:eye level.

Just a word of warning if this is a upgrade to a 1080p monitor, your gaming performance will take a hit as it is a intensive resolution despite not needing such high AA like you sometimes do on lower settings.

I'm sure plenty of other people will offer other useful advice - I.e. the BenQ monitors have a reputation for good quality.

3. longweight

longweight Possibly Longbeard.

4. DanFerret

Actually saw that monitor on Scan a few hours ago and was considering it so to see someone else give it a positive review is good :)

The LG IPS models seem to get mentioned A LOT but stock seems hard to find.

Although Dabs have the IPS231P 23" in stock in 5-7 days for £146.

5. Cerberus90