1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ITX Cube (Update: 2nd March)

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Cerberus90, 26 Feb 2012.

1. Cerberus90

Cerberus90 Car Spannerer

I never know how to start writing stuff like this, :D, so.....

This is going to be a budget case/system build. Based around ITX form factor, but with a standard ATX PSU. It's going to be mainly used as a HTPC, so quieter the better.
    This is my first time building a case from scratch. I've done a little bit of modding before, none of its really ever gone perfect, :D.

My Dad is a retired engineer and an excellent bodger, so I've got plenty of support there should I encounter any problems, :D

Got the motherboard and RAM from bdigital for £35
    Already had a CPU, a E2180 which was a bit flaky in my Grandads PC, but seems to be working fine so far.
    CPU Cooler £2.50 from lancer.
    Got a 400W el'Generico ATX PSU.
    Got a 2.5" IDE 80GB Hard drive (bought a IDE > SATA converter from ebay for £4.88)

I'll probably get a new fan for the PSU to quieten it down as it's a bit loud at the moment.
    The fans in the case design may or may not be fitted straight away, I haven't decided yet.

As it's a budget build, I'm going for MDF as the construction material.
    Bought a 1.8m x 0.6m x 6mm sheet from Wickes for £8.49.

So Total spent so far is £50 ish.

The case will be 25cm x 25cm x 25cm.
    I've not decided on a colour scheme yet, that can come once I've built the case and know that it all fits and is going to work.

I've done a few designs in Sketchup, tweaking things to make sure everything's going to fit, and here is the current final design :D

[​IMG]

The square supports (15mm square) are going to be screwed to the MDF sheets with small wood screws and probably glued as well.