1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking I7 930 OC

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by towelie, 9 Apr 2012.

1. towelie

towelie How do I Internet!!

Evening lads, just want a general consensus of this overclock.

Right so I'm new to overclocking but saw this article and thought I'd give it ago as it the same Board and one version below my I7 930.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2008/11/06/overclocking-intel-core-i7-920/3

So i have clocked it the same as in the pictures.

Have changed to reflect current testing parameters.(will change V to 1.32 if confirmed that a next step.)

CPU voltage 1.35
    CPU PLL 1.96
    QPI/DRAM Voltage - 1.35V
    CPU RATIO 21.0
    BLCK 191
    DRAM Frequency - 1,600MHz

Here is CPU-Z screen one at idle and load.IDLE 56c LOAD 89c

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

When stress testing the mouse was a little slow to respond but i guess that fine seeing as the machine's spanking it self one.:naughty:

Cooler Corsair H80 and more spec in sig.

:hip::hip::hip::hip:

Last edited: 10 Apr 2012
  2. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Voltage seems a little too high, but it does depend on the CPU. My old 920 did 4GHz pretty much square on 1.3v... my current 920 does it closer to 1.25v. The only way you can work out what voltage(s) you need is by trial and error, unfortunately. :)

I recommend trying 191x21 because it will give you an easier 4GHz; using the 20 multi on a 930 kind of defeats the purpose! ;)

A couple of pointers: you're using only 1GB of memory when running IBT, and that's not going to establish whether or not your system is stable - you should test with at least 8GB of memory if you have 12GB installed; and try to keep your temps below 85C if possible. 89C is very high for that voltage in IBT - any idea what your ambient temps are? And what program are you using to measure temps? Use Core Temp if you're not already.