1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building a monster - 2x E5-2690's, SR-X [advice required]

Discussion in 'bit-tech Folding Team' started by Mark_Skeldon, 6 Jun 2012.

1. Mark_Skeldon

Mark_Skeldon What's a Dremel?

Hi guys,

I'm after a little bit of advice.

I work in IT and a rare request has popped up from one of my clients who design and render high-end holograms.

Their last rig I built about 4 years ago (quad extreme etc etc) is showing its age now and taking over 24 hours to render their latest designs.

They've asked me to build them a ninja workstation. Money not really a concern (within reason). It needs to have at least 18 cores ( specs from the new software vendor [cant release any names]) and a min of 8gb RAM.

It can however exceed these specs if I deem it necessary.

I was thinking about twin E5 2690's in an SR-X, RAM I'm on the fence about, but as there is no real OC'ing to be had from Xeons I'm not after high freq kits. GPU(s) are unknown at this point as I'm still waiting to hear from the vendor whether or not their software can make use of Quadro cards.

I would just like to hear your thoughts on any alternatives to this set up? I'm open to the idea of AMD but as all of my kit (data centre/rack mount) is Intel based I'm on the back foot regarding the best tech at the moment.

My client has agreed to let me fold on this rig 24/7 under my own name, so I'd like it to be as quick as possible :D

2. Mark_Skeldon

Wow! Volume of replies is hard to keep up with :/

I have decided to go for the following:

EVGA SR-X
    2x E5-2687W's (with two Corsair H80's)
    32GB Corsair Vengeance
    EVGA GTX 670
    2x 512GB Crucial M4's
    Corsair AX1200
    Coolermaster Cosmos II

Thoughts? Can anyone see any improvements here?

3. DocJonz

DocJonz Another CPC refugee .....

Mark, I guess we're not familiar with the hardware requirements for hologram rendering!