1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Time for a career change, what do you do?

Discussion in 'General' started by Parge, 16 Jul 2012.

1. Elton

Elton Officially a Whisky Nerd

I'm a repair technician. Sadly I'm employed by the family, but I do work on the side as well. It makes decent money and I love it.

Ironically, I am aspiring to be a lawyer.. Go Figure.

2. TaRkA DaHl

TaRkA DaHl Modder

Something like this really comes down to where you live I suppose. There are always a couple of jobs going around here, pay isn't brilliant at around £9 per hour but its a starting point. Plus if you put in OT you could make an ok living.

Sad to say I was putting away £35k+ before I got RSI, when I was essentially forced to quit I took over a £20k pay cut just because there were no jobs going.

If my long term plan works, I could back to earning decent money doing an easier job with what would in all honesty would be similar or better hours.

Money is not the be all and end all though, if you enjoy your job it makes life far simpler.

LennyRhys likes this.
  3. gilljoy

gilljoy Minimodder

I'm going to be going into my final year of a computer science degree in late September but at the moment I'm working as a software engineer in a relativity large local IT company ( not MS / Google huge but big enough)

I do like the job but I really don't enjoy what I'm doing at the minute and I'm really struggling to figure out what I want to do with my life once I graduate.

The thought of sitting cutting code for some really boring web based insurance products for the rest of my life would bore me to death and the though of being a manager would make me want to jump of a bridge.

Just need to come up with that next big idea I suppose....

4. BennieboyUK

BennieboyUK CPC Folder of the Month Sep 2011