1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress TJ-11/Level 10 hybrid scratchbuild?

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by rwb97, 5 Jul 2012.

?

What color sleeving?

1. Red

25.6%
  2. Black

17.9%
  3. Both

56.4%
  1. rwb97

rwb97 Addicted to modding

Clear definitely heheheh.

Yeah, was going for black, sounds like a good process. Any particular type of paint (If possible, a type that will go through an airbrush.

Thanks very much for the help, I'm a complete novice to painting.
    :dremel:

2. Mosquito

Mosquito Just 'Plane' Crazy

I'm by no means an expert when it comes to painting, but I have done a fair amount of woodworking. You'll probably want to use some sort of sealer on the plywood first, like a shellac sanding sealer (I use Zinsser bullseye sanding sealer, or General Finishes Seal-A-Cell for this, but just make sure it's dewaxed/100% wax free). Use a few coats of that, and then sand smooth to a high grit paper. It will give a better starting surface for the paint, and fewer coats of paint to get a good flat surface.

From there, you'd probably be better off finding a tutorial or seeking advice from someone else... I think Bill (MNPCTech) has a video tutorial somewhere for getting a high gloss paint finish

rwb97 likes this.
  3. rwb97

Ok, sounds great, me thinks I have some sealer somewhere, and yeah MNPC has some good tutorials so I'll take a look.

Again, Thank's very much, +rep

4. rwb97

Quick update to conclude today, made a mount for my optical drive, Its a bit crummy, but wont be seen, and could be made using offcuts.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Also, my Dad picked up a 3mm router bit so I can get going with that. Cheers Dad:D

Finally, I have ordered some plastikote and some sanding sealer to paint the backstand-Thanks to Mosquito for that.:thumb:

Be back for more tomorrow!!

5. Mosquito

Mosquito Just 'Plane' Crazy