1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Purchasing a monitor - BenQ G2255

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Harty, 31 Oct 2012.

1. Harty

Harty What's a Dremel?

I'm a newbie when it comes to monitors. I understand the different inputs, response time and contrast ratio, but that's about it.
    I'm after a 1920x1080 monitor, with a DVI input. There's many of those out there, but I'm on a budget of around £80, and this one caught my eye - http://www.ebuyer.com/349509-benq-g2255-21-5-dvi-lcd-monitor-9h-l8clb-qpe

Is this decent quality? I understand it won't be as good quality as some others, but to me a monitor is a monitor, and this one has decent reviews; I just thought I'd run by opinions from you guys first. :D

2. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

The main difference between monitors is the quality of the panels. The monitor you're looking at is a TN monitor and it will have a pretty poor quality panel. You want to consider getting an IPS monitor like this - it's only £30 more expensive but there's a world of difference between the two. :thumb:

3. Harty

Harty What's a Dremel?

Thanks for the reply!
    So IPS is a better panel, but does that mean that TN is necessarily bad?

4. Somer_Himpson

Somer_Himpson What's a Dremel?

5. Harty

Harty What's a Dremel?

6. fdbh96

fdbh96 What's a Dremel?

Recently purchased a benq tn monitor and was perfectly acceptable as an everyday monitor. However, you might struggle to find an £80 ips anyway and even if you could the build quality would probably be rubbish anyway.

7. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

I would like to quote Scott Wasson of Tech Report (via: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/page/2/) "every pixel on a TN panel is a bad pixel".

Ok in all seriousness, it depends on what you are looking for, and what do you mean by "good" and "bad". Like do you mean overall build quality? image? view angle? etc...