1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking Help OCing a 3750k

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Fraze, 20 Dec 2012.

1. Fraze

Fraze Minimodder

Hey Guys

I've got the following rig which is running @ 3.8Ghz with XMP enabled on my memory modules.

I'd like to increase this oc, however i'm a total noob when it comes to this and am pretty scared about adjusting the bios setting incorrectly.

Does anyone have any experience with the following hardware combination that could give advice?

CPU: i5 3750k @ 3800MHz (38x100MHz) - voltage set to Auto
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
    Memory: 2 x 4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis KHX1600C9D3/4GX PC3-10700 667 MHz (running @ 800Mhz via XMP 1.3)
    Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer i30

cheers!

Last edited: 20 Dec 2012
  2. The_Crapman

The_Crapman World's worst stuntman. Lover of bit-tech

3. aNuclearPidgeon

aNuclearPidgeon Minimodder

I've got my i7 3770K at 4.4GHz cooled with a H100i with the voltage set to auto and so far no games I've played which are demanding (Shogun 2, BFBC2) though I did get a BSOD while I had a few youtube tabs open on firefox. Not sure what it was about but I panicked and held down the power button to turn it off completely. Also melt something burn but I'm not sure what it was :/

Anyways back to topic. Any high-end air cooling can get an i5 3570K or i7 3770K up to 4.2GHz with voltages set on auto; this is called the "safest overclock" for these chips or so I've heard. To OC it even further just bump the multiplier on the BIOS to 42.

I take it since your OC is 3.8GHz you're just leaving that to Turbo to do the work yes? if so you might want to turn it off in the BIOS. I can't exactly help you on the BIOS stuff since I'm using an MSI motherboard with their different UI look but I'm sure another Bit-Tech guy can help you out here.

4. mm vr

mm vr The cheesecake is a lie