1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors What are my available options (bought a naff car)

Discussion in 'General' started by profqwerty, 29 Jan 2013.

1. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

Yes, given how easy it is to make a case in the Small Claims court.

2. mrbungle

mrbungle Undercooked chicken giver

Which doesn't force him to do anything.

3. jinq-sea

jinq-sea 'write that down in your copy book' Super Moderator

As a lawyer, I have to disagree with this point. Plus, it's really easy for an individual to bring an action in the county court, and relatively inexpensive.

profqwerty - if I can help at all, drop me a PM.

4. Alekoy

Alekoy Ostekake!

I have a 2000 Limited with the 4,7L V8 currenty parked in my garage with (hold on) gearbox problems.. :p my 3rd and 4th gear is slipping, so I need to change the clutches..
    changed oil every 12K km, but I guess it was just time... :/
    I am pretty sure you have the same Gearbox as me, the 45-RFE.

also, have you checked out www.wjjeeps.com a GREAT resource for anything related to your car.

OH, and gearbox-related codes are rarely cheap to get rid of :(

5. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

Amazed 3rd and 4th are slipping, you towed a lot with it?

6. Alekoy

Alekoy Ostekake!

It has towed some stuff over the years, but the two gears are the ones that normally slips normallu due to low oil level and when the two gears are the ones that uses most oil (several clutches are applied) and the RPMs inside the box is higher, so you can get foaming in the oil, and that is not good.
    So I think what happened is that I might have misjudged the oil level on my last oilchange.. Might have done a stupid mistake like checking the level with the engine stopped or something similarly embarrassing... :banghead:

7. profqwerty

profqwerty What's a Dremel?