1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice 3D Design / Gaming machine

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ren, 11 Sep 2013.

1. Ren

Ren What's a Dremel?

Hi all!:)

I am currently in my final year of Uni and I am planning to go Design Engineer route, therefore will be using software like Catia V5/Solidworks very often and hopefully my projects on said software will get larger throughout next year.
    Not only it will be used for a year but for my career or further training on the software, therefore I will require a powerful machine to do the job as smooth and quick as possible.

Unfortunately I don't have enough time to keep track of new hardware releases ect, therefore have to ask your advice guys:)

Purpose: Mainly engineering 3D software/analysis but will be used for awesome games such as GTA V when it comes out!

Budget: Depends, will spend around £1000 until winter time, will not be buying parts straight away in one day.

If there are parts which will cost more but last longer in terms of running new software and games for next few years I will happily consider them.

Hope for your advice guys, thank you in advance!:clap:

2. Ren

Ren What's a Dremel?

Had a look at some processors and motherboards...I must say there is A LOT to choose from and I cant get my head around it!

I've been looking at some i5 and i7 processors from £160 to£250 pounds, but wasn't so sure what's their difference:(

Same with motherboards, so much to choose from and I don't know which one may suit my needs:( Hope you guys can shed some light on this.

Forgot to mention, I don't have a monitor so will require this as well, maybe you guys know tried and tested good monitors, it might be included in the budget but might be bought separately, will need something big for 3D design.

Thanks!

3. Tangster

Tangster Butt-kicking for goodness!

If you can afford it, go for a hexcore intel processor.