1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics SLI Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kronos, 18 Apr 2014.

1. Kronos

Kronos Multimodder

I posted this question a few weeks ago http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=267831 and then this one http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=268694

Anyway I bought the V Gene but note that the PCI-E slots are very close together, no problem fitting two GPU's but the top one surely must struggle to cool air because of the closeness of the second card?

The Sniper has plenty of room between GPU's and wonders why more manufacturers do not not build their mobo's similar.

Or have I nothing to fear over the slot positions. I am totally new to SLI and have no idea if it is something I should be concerned about?

2. damien c

damien c Mad FPS Gamer

It all depends on the cards you choose and which cooler coolers they have on them.

In one pc that I had, the slot's were that close that the top card use to struggle to get any air to it to cool it, and also the south bridge on the motherboard struggled as well so I had to use a desk fan to force air over them in order to stop, the whole pc from crashing due to high temps.

3. Pete J

Pete J Employed scum

If they're reference/blower type coolers I wouldn't worry. Even 480s were okay clustered together.

4. Kronos

Kronos Multimodder

I have an Evga 670 top and an Asus Nvidia GeForce 2GB GTX 670 DirectCU II on the bottom or will have when I move over to the V Gene.

5. AlienwareAndy

AlienwareAndy What's a Dremel?

Yes but the 480 was designed to run like that and had a perforated PCB to bring air in from both sides. It also sucked the air in and got rid of it out the back of the PC. I ran 480 SLI in a sandwich, no issues at all. Tried it in the same PC with two single PCB 295s and no matter what I tried they always shut the PC down.