1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips Need advice on which camera to buy

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Solidus, 22 Apr 2014.

1. Solidus

Solidus Superhuman

Hey guys,

I need some help on deciding which camera to buy as i'm completely new to photography but a project i'm working on requires I shoot a lot of videos which need to be of good quality.

I've wanted to get a good DSLR for ages anyways and now that a definite need for it has come up and I have a bit of money saved up I thought I would source peoples opinions.

I've wanted a DSLR to get into photography and I'm one of these people that doesn't want something just basic for beginners but something I could grow into with more functionality than your beginner cameras.

However I don't particularly want to drop insane amounts of money on it either and want to a camera that fits somewhere in the middle.

Crystal clear video-recording is a must as must the pictures too. I understand I need a lens for this so open for advice on this too.

My budget is about £1000 approx give or take in total for the lens and camera. It has some flexibility but I prefer not to go silly.

From research initially I was leaning towards the cannon t5i however the cannon lenses appear to be far more expensive than if I went with nikon?

Also I have read nikon have more functionality for the more advanced users while cannon tends to be catered for those wanting to pick up and start shooting straight away.

I dont mind waiting a little if theres anything around this price range coming out soon anyways that may be worth holding out for either as another option.

What I'm wondering is whether people could make recommendations on:

Which camera to buy?

Whats good about it?

Whats bad about it?

Price?

Any advice is welcome really.:thumb:

2. Cthippo

Cthippo Can't mod my way out of a paper bag