1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Good sharp budget lens for Nikon DX

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by LennyRhys, 19 Jan 2015.

1. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Right so at some point in the future I want to get myself as sharp a budget lens as possible for my D3200. The kit lens is OK but I want to unleash the full potential of the 24MP sensor, so I'm looking for something affordable (and not necessarily Nikkor) that has superior optics.

I'm not in any hurry to buy; just interested to hear people's opinions and experiences. I used to be a Canon guy using a lot of Canon and Sigma lenses, but now that I'm in the Nikon camp I feel like I'm a complete novice where gear is concerned.

What lenses do you use and what's sharpest? I already know about the 50mm 1.8 which gets Pookyhead's approval, but I don't particularly like 50mm on crop bodies; I'd prefer something shorter. The 35mm 1.8 seems to be very good like the 50mm, but I'll wait to hear people's input.

I'd prefer to keep the cost below £100 if possible, which is tough for good glass, I know! :D

2. sonicgroove

sonicgroove Radical Atheist

Carl Zeiss Flektagon 35mm f2.4 is pretty much as sharp as you can get for that budget. It's a quality piece of glass. It'll be £150+ on a buy it now, but can be had for under £100 on auctions.

3. Atomic

Atomic Gerwaff

You will be able to get the same Sigma lenses in Nikon fit :)

Just slightly over your budget at £140, but the Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8 is a great lens on a crop sensor body. My gf uses it as her general walk about lens and it's comparable to the 50mm f1.8 on full frame.

4. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Thanks guys. I checked out the Zeiss lens (and others) and it's looking very good indeed.