1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Alternatives to the Philips BDM4065UC...?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Multiplectic, 8 Dec 2015.

1. Multiplectic

Multiplectic His Stigness

Hey chaps!

Being so close to Xmas, I started looking for my present... :D
    I want a +40" 4K display (Either TV or monitor) to use it as a PC monitor. After much digging and reading and comparing and analysing and browsing, the BDM4065UC has almost won me over. Right now it's around £525 @ Amazon.
    This monitor would suit me right now because I don't have an HDMI 2.0 capable GPU, only DP 1.2.

But I know I should be a more rational buyer, so, I'm looking for other options before plunging in.
    Also, I'm kinda new to this "4K world", I might miss something here and there.

Any tips or recommendations?

Cheers! :D

2. heir flick

heir flick Minimodder

3. Multiplectic

Mmmm... Cheaper! :D
    Will give that one a look, thanks!

4. Parge

Parge the worst Super Moderator

No Gsync or freesync.... not for me.

5. Multiplectic

Actually the Philips monitor has DP 1.2a, which would potentially point to Freesync support.
    I don't know much about the Iiyama, doing some research right now.

Anyway, I don't care about Free/GSync support. 60 FPS is enough for me.

6. Vault-Tec

Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

That's not why you need Free/Gsync. It's to cope with the crushing your GPU/S get at 4k and helps to smooth out the dips between 60 and 0 FPS.

I was initially running Gsync on two TBs and I must say the experience was pretty good. I then sacrificed it for a Fury X and now in some games I have to play with Vsync off because I only get 30 FPS max.

Are you sure you know what you are getting into here? I would say at a minimum you are going to need at least one 980ti or Fury X. That's if you want to play on medium-settings. Anything less and you may as well stick at a lower resolution.