1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Upgrade to Windows 10 now, warns Microsoft

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Gareth Halfacree, 6 May 2016.

1. Elledan

Elledan What's a Dremel?

Using Windows 10 since they first made it available as a 'Developer Preview', I'm firmly convinced that I will never use Windows 10 as it exists today. From the lack of UI skinning (RIP Aero Glass, Win2k skin, etc.), to the horrendous control panel(s), to the inability to control Windows Updates, I have zero interest in 'upgrading'.

I have been using Windows 7 since 2009. I think it's awesome, even if I wish they had kept some things like they were in Win2k/XP, but generally I think it's great. I currently have Windows Updates disabled because I have lost trust in Microsoft to create a proper OS again, let alone listen to its users.

The way things are shaping up, I will still be using Windows 7 come 2020, with only critical updates vetted and installed by hand. Maybe Microsoft will have wizened up by then...

2. Broadwater06

Broadwater06 Minimodder

That's not good practice to turn off the Windows updates. Patching vulnerabilities is far more important.

3. GeorgeStorm

GeorgeStorm Aggressive PC Builder

So it's still fine to use on the PC you originally upgraded? I assume that's what people are wanting to do anyway, keep the key so in the future at some point when they're happier using W10 they can upgrade for free.

4. Kovoet

Kovoet What's a Dremel?

I've actually enjoyed Win 10 and I'm not usually good with changes. But reading some of your comments in various places I am learning all the little tricks and shortcuts. I'm actually glad i amde the change.

5. Cthippo

Cthippo Can't mod my way out of a paper bag

I used four different operating systems today.