1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Fractal Design Define R5 Inverse Layout - Modding n00b

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by doesntevenMATer, 9 May 2016.

1. doesntevenMATer

doesntevenMATer What's a Dremel?

My first water cooling build was a roller coaster of a learning experience to say the least. It seems like every time I'd get a package of parts in the mail I'd realize that I'm missing yet another piece or I'd find some new component that I absolutely had to have. When all was said and done I called my baby GrayGhost. After finishing "him" I began browsing the modding forums and getting the itch to do a case mod. This is my first attempt to mod a case into something that carries my design aesthetic and hopefully keeps a decent build quality although modding with limited tools and space is always a huge obstacle.

GrayGhost 1.0
    [​IMG]

I am a designer by trade so I am planning on building a system that is a bit different and interesting yet manages to remain understated and quiet. Recently the Parvum R1.0 and Corsair 600C have caught my eye because of their inverted motherboard layout. The only problem being money is tight and I told myself I would not buy a new case until after the Broadwell-E processors are released. Until then I dug around I realized I already owned a Define R5 and a Cooler Master Elite 110. I wouldn't have any issues chopping up either of them since they were only collecting dust. Needless to say, due to size restraints, I decided to begin a modding project using the Fractal Design Define R5.

Hardware:
    • Case: Fractal Design Define R5
    • CPU: Intel i7-4770k
    • Mobo: Asus Z97-AR
    • RAM: G.Skill Sniper 16GB 1866 DDR3 (2x8GB)
    • GPU: Asus GTX 970 Strix (x2)
    • SSD: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    • SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    • SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
    • HDD: Western Digital Green 3TB
    • PSU: Corsair AX860