1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics Advice requested: minimum GPU for twin projectors

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tuthmose, 27 Jul 2016.

1. Tuthmose

Tuthmose Minimodder

Hey all,

I could use a bit of advice here.

I’m a high-school history teacher. School budgets being what they are – nonexistent – I’m trying to update my classroom setup on my own dime. I could use some advice on a budget-but-capable GPU.

Backstory: I hate mixing text and images in a slideshow; it doesn’t work well educationally at all. So I run twin screens. A projector off an old laptop for images/slideshows, and a late 1990s overhead projector with note outlines. That way I can bounce back and forth: a line of notes, then over to supporting images/graphics/eyecandy, then back to notes, etc. It works pretty well, but I’m really limited by that geriatric overhead projector and its friggin’ transparencies.

So, I’m cobbling together a dedicated desktop HTPC-ish box using an old i3 board to replace the whole mess. I am going replaced the outdated overhead with a second projector (looking on fleabay for a used one as we speak). I will obviously need a GPU that is capable of powering BOTH 1080p projectors simultaneous. Mostly it will be twin PPTs – one with notes, one with images. Occasionally the "images" projector will show video/film instead.

Since I’ve got to buy all of this crap out of my own not-so-deep pockets, I’d like to spend as little as possible to get the job done. I know what I need for gaming GPUs, but I’m out of my element here. Last-gen GPU suggestion would be just fine, since I can find 'em used for cheaper. Will a 750ti fit the bill? An AMD 270? Do I need something more modern? 2GB of RAM, or do I need to look for 4GB? I’m trying not to spend for overkill, but underkill would be disastrous.